Skip navigation

I had an issues just a bit ago where I couldn’t access “Previous Versions” even tho I knew Windows was creating them. But it just wouldn’t let me access them via the Properties dialog. This wasn’t really that much of an issues since I never really used it that much. However the point is it wasn’t there for when I would need it.

This is what I was seeing:

Previous Versions tab in Properties doesn't list versions like it should.

After googling a little bit I found a couple of refrences and starting points to look into. First one told me I needed to have the Server service running. I also needed to have TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service also running. In my case both were running so that wasn’t my problem. (Refrence)

Soon after found myself on one of Microsoft’s KB pages also trying to solve this issues. It had you go to the network adapter to turn on File and Printer Shareing. But again my problem wasn’t here as it was already on. (Refrence)

Felt it was time to refine my search term since I was just using the message itself. This problem was happening after I used Tuneup Utillites to alter a few settings. It was such a little thing too, Administrative Shares must be turned on. The one setting thats required for Previous Versions I had off. (ref: Refrence)

I can report that Previous Versions is now working. :)

drive.

7 Comments

  1. haha, interesting how many services you need to run in order to get Previous Versions to work.

    the trouble is it’s not mentioned anywhere.

  2. Heh it actually works without all those services you just can’t access the data then without third-party software :P

    It makes sense after you review the URL or in this case UNC.

    “\\localhost\C$\@GMT-2008.06.21-03.31.03”

    Its using localhost as the network computer, then using the Administrative Share C Drive, and then using the Shadow Copies from the specified date.

    To work with Previous Versions it uses networking methods hence the need for all the network requirements. :P

  3. yeah, i kinda figured it out after weeks of troubleshooting.

    wished there’s a help page somewhere.

    • Anthony Cargile
    • Posted July 12, 2008 at 5:29 PM
    • Permalink

    can you say “Time Machine”?

  4. Revised my original argument on Time Machine, the first one wasn’t thought out as well it could have been.

    https://logicearth.wordpress.com/2008/07/12/apple-time-machine/

  5. Nice post. I am continuously hanging out on this site and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information especially the ultimate section

  6. Cazare Ieftina Cluj Napoca

    I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful
    than ever before.


Leave a Reply

